Mozart (Part 4) … the last one

The boy stared at the body, his vision impaired by his own blood. He did a slow visual scan of the man he used to call Daddy from head to torso to toes and back to torso to……

“That’s not a head!” he mumbled cheerfully. “It’s a potato!” His father had a potato head. Potatoes must be mashed. Almost instantaneously, the boy raised the screwdriver and began pounding on the man’s head.

“Potatoes must be mashed. Potatoes must be mashed. Potatoes must be mashed……” The boy went on to mash the potato completely in some God-given time. When he was done, he leaned back to rest.

“Well done!”

“Thank you, God!”

“Are you ready for the next step?”

“Yes, God. But…”

“But what?”

“Can I see Your face, God?”

“Ha! Why?”

“I’m just curious, God. Hmmm, never mind, God.”

“Since you’ve been such a good boy, I shall grant your wish.”

“Really, God?”

“Yes.”

“Oh…thank You, God!”

“Meet your Maker.” The boy could see someone walking towards him from the darkness of the bedroom. As the figure moved under the lights, he gaped at a little boy who looked just like him.

“Who are you?”

“I am God.”

“You look like me. You are not God.”

“I am God. You are me and I am you.”

“What?”

“I am God. You are God. We both are. In music, there is only one genius – Mozart. In music prophecy, there is only one genius – you and I. You…I…prophesy to kill. Let you…me…continue to draw strength from Mozart’s energy in his music-making when prophesying the death ends of all the naughty people. I will kill all the naughty people like how I killed the undertaker who touched me all over and my father who failed his life. They don’t deserve to live……” It dawned upon the boy that he had been talking to himself, and he was rather bemused.

He stood gingerly as he remembered three names. Tom had beaten him several times, citing fun as the reason. Dick had labelled his mother a witch. Uncle Harry had rolled off his father’s bed naked. He put the headphones to his ears and clicked ‘play’ on his walkman. Mozart made him smile, again.

Published in: on Monday, September 8, 2008 at 11:32 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2008/09/08/mozart-part-4-the-last-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow! CS, just wow! That was an awesome, chilling and yet profound story. Disturbing but so thought provoking. Brilliantly done!

  2. You are so kind with your words, and I appreciate your huge encouragement! Thanks, V!

  3. What a story, C.S.! I particularly liked its surreal quality, the choice of words for certain images, the choice of Mozart’s music for these horrific happenings… Well written! I have to repeat what Vanilla said: Just wow!

  4. Oh, Vesper, thank you for your support! I’m glad you enjoyed reading this. 🙂

  5. So incredible, so strange! Vanilla said it best; chilling!

    I was riveted all the way through from the very first piece, and even reading these on different days made no difference, I was spellbound.

    Wow! So dark, so well written!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

  6. S & V, I am happy that you like what I have written here. Thank you very much! 🙂

  7. So come on then, more, more – when’s the next story coming?! 🙂

  8. oh…Vanilla, the concoction of another tale is in the pipeline. hoping that it will be done in the near future.


Leave a Reply

