Salt on Candy

I only asked for a simple story
But you went on and delivered a sermon.

I only needed a small favour
But you let the whole world know how big your help was.

I only wanted to be your Valentine
But you gave me the greatest bunch of flowers that meant nothing.

I only cared about who you were
But you only cared about what you did.

(a simple tribute to V-Day)

Published in: on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 at 11:34 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/salt-on-candy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ouch, but I like it. Don’t we all know someone like this!?

  2. I agree with aine. It immediately makes you think to one person. We need this b4 V-day!

  3. who?

  4. No wonder i hate this day so much.
    outstanding!
    really enjoyed being here.
    will be back for more.

  5. Biting bitterness in this one. It speaks to me.

  6. hope you’ll enjoy the rest, Anupama. 🙂

    i’m glad you hear my voice, Sara. 😉

  7. The open honesty rings through loud and clear. Terrific poem. Makes me think too of the hazards of parenting, when my daughter warns me that I’m beginning one of my “lectures,” when something else was needed.

  8. nice to see you here, quidam! thanks for your encouragement!

    my girl is still too young to warn me, but i’ll be mindful.


Leave a Reply

