Sudden Death

Last month, I was just talking to Mr Chan at the coffeeshop. He was saying that the government should do something about the high cost of living and the low salary. The next morning, he dropped dead in the bedroom from a heart attack.

Last week, I met Susan at Coffee Bean. We recounted the good old days in high school and how I used to woo her before she left for the states. Two days later, she was run over by a motorcycle.

Yesterday, Jason called me and invited me to his wedding dinner next month. He shared how excited he was about starting his own family unit. I told him he’d make a good husband because he was a very patient guy. Last night, he was stabbed to death in a snatch theft.

Six hours ago, Mum rang me up and said Dad was admitted to hospital. It was just diagnosed that he was at the late stage of liver cancer. Just a few minutes after I had met him at Changi, he passed away.

Just now, an ambulance pulled over by the pavement. The paramedics rolled out the stretcher and I could see a young man with a number tag on his chest lying unconscious. Words spread that he was a seasoned marathon runner who collapsed seconds after completing 21 km.

Now, I am staring at him. He’s being pushed out with the sheet covering his face and his parents crying.

If life is so uncertain, what have I done?

Published in: on Thursday, January 3, 2008 at 12:08 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2008/01/03/sudden-death/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Gosh, good to remember that our time is here and now. 🙂

  2. Your best. And you have loved.

    There’s a little something for you over at my place. 🙂

  3. Oh, I was taken a back by this post. That is why, we have to live each day as if it is our last…

  4. yup. now is the time, and vice versa.

  5. My, what an extraordinary rate of events. Hope you’re recuperating from it well.

  6. hey Tan ! cheer up 😀 life is fated, uncontrolable. Seeyou tmomorrow ~ so much to be share.

  7. Carpe diem!

    But don’t be sooo grim, CS. 🙂

  8. This was like watching Six Feet Under. Gripping writing as usual, CS.

    That’s why we should live each day as if it’s our last. Make the most of this precious gift.


Leave a Reply

