pacify her

today,
i asked daddy
for my pai zeh zeh.
he told me i’m a big girl,
i don’t need my pai zeh zeh.
i disagreed. i asked him for my
pai zeh zeh. then he went on asking
me if barney, bj, baby bob, elmo, woody,
buzz lightyear, boo, huckle, nemo have pai
zeh zeh in their mouths, and each time I said,
“no.” then, he went on saying, “you don’t
need pai zeh zeh then.” i still disagree,
though i have to admit i was almost
won over. pai zeh zeh has been
and will always be my prized
possession. no one can
take it away from me.
not my daddy or
my mummy.
period.

Published in: on Monday, December 10, 2007 at 11:51 pm  Comments (16)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2007/12/10/pacify-her/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like the directional shape of this piece. Clever. Now, please enlighten me as to what a pai zeh zeh is 🙂

  2. Silly me. It’s a pacifier! D-oh! (slapping forehead like Homer Simpson).

    Blame it on it’s-Monday-and-I-haven’t-recovered-from-the-weekend-yet.

  3. i’m glad you got it! 🙂

  4. I love that. Little ones hate losing their pacifiers… though.

    I did my blog roll list like that… in waves and points.
    This completely appealed to me on several levels.

    Well done!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

  5. I wish that is enough to really pacify me actually… 😉

  6. Heh! Loved it that your poem has a pacifier shape! Lovely, written just like a child would think – brilliant gift that, CS.

  7. That was really incredible!

    Love it!

  8. I remember that battle. The poem made me smile.

  9. Very nice, CS. I really like this.
    It shines. 🙂

    Was reading Su-Chen Christine Lim’s newest novel, The Lies That Build a Marriage in the London tube today. Brought back a few books.
    Have you met her? If you do, she’s a really wonderful person to know. Always smiling.

  10. Very nice, thanks for brighting up my otherwise depressing day.

  11. S & V, yes this was from a personal experience with my little one. thank you for your kind words!

    Mariposa, perhaps you have other means to be pacified? thanks for dropping by! 😉

    thanks to my girl that I was able to pen this one, Vanilla.

    I appreciate you coming by and your compliment, Rachel.

    so I can tell my girl that Uncle Jason used to love the pacifier too? i’m glad you smiled, Jason. 🙂

    thank you, Suzan! I like her big books used in school. will check out her fiction soon.

    you are so welcome, Rob! i hope things will pick up soon.

  12. Ah, yes, the great control issue between parent and child. We survived this battle with our eldest. I also enjoyed watching Jason go to war with our youngest over her thumb (let’s just say he hasn’t won, yet). She’s got the simple advantage that it is attached to her body.

  13. welcome to DLO, aine! i see that you are very much related to Mr Evans. 🙂

  14. Lovely. Very effective. 🙂

  15. thank you, Seamus!

  16. […] see, my wife and i had always wanted our little girl to quit being pacified by the pacifier just before sleeptime. as much as we tried, we just couldn’t get her to do it. but we did […]


Leave a Reply

