Holly’s Wood

The seed came into her hands and went straight into the mud. Mum said it would grow into a fine tree, and Holly believed her.

So day after day, she would religiously shower a great abundance of water and everlasting love, knowing the seed would grow into the fine tree Mum told her. Water from the canister and love from her lips.

Days turned to weeks; weeks turned to months; and months turned to years. And the seed never grew. Even before Mum passed on in bed that day, she told Holly not to give it up, and that the seed would grow into a fine tree. So she never once relented and kept on in faith what she had been doing over the years. Water from the canister and love from her lips. Years turned to decades; and decades turned to…well…not quite centuries yet. And the seed never grew.

One fine day, Holly came up to me and asked, “Do you believe what Mum had said?” In all honesty, I never once believed, not just because Mum was a great liar, but also, she was a greater mother who would give anything to ensure that my down syndrome sister feel important and useful in this world. “Your purpose in life is to keep that seed growing,” she told Holly.

I looked at her and saw Mum’s image on her wrinkled skin. Seventy years. She had showered the seed with water from the canister and love from her lips for seventy years. Could I just squash her hope with the cold hard truth?

“Yes,” I struggled in uttering that word. She smiled and held my hand, saying, “Me too.”

It was morning when I said, “Take me there.” Holly pushed me to the very spot where she had spent seven decades kneeling and watering. I told her I had a surprise for her and that she had to close her eyes. She giggled and closed her eyes behind those thick glasses. I prayed silently, “God, help me.” I told her to open her eyes which she did almost immediately.

“Look at the tree in front of us. Mum’s right. The seed has grown into a fine tree,” I said, as we both stared at God’s wonderful creation in awe, admiring the beauty in all its glory. I held my sister’s hand tight and breathed my last breath……and Holly lived with her wood happily ever after.

Published in: on Saturday, December 1, 2007 at 11:59 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2007/12/01/hollys-wood/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. really touches the heart.

    sometimes a white lie can indeed bring joy for one’s journey.

    really wonder how you get inspired to write such wonderful stories.

    keep it up, we’ll be supporting you in your new journey… not a white lie but a truth. ; )

  2. thank you, Hidekram! you are kind with your words!

  3. That is so beautiful and poignant, CS. A lovely story, so well told.

  4. thanks for your warm encouragement, Vanilla! 🙂

  5. That’s a good one, CS.

  6. thank you, Minx! hope you are doing well! 🙂

  7. nice story . xDD

  8. That’s touching. some truths take a long time to believe. 🙂

  9. Sad, but beautiful. Very touching, CS, and well written.

  10. thank you for your encouragement, Vesper, Xinwei and Puresunshine!

  11. Oh my, CS. How sweet, beautiful, and touching. This one made me teary-eyed.

  12. i thank you for the compliment, JD!


Leave a Reply

