the paper i picked up today

the paper i picked up today
it moved me a little

doubts about what i do
it kept feeding them

the world seemed blind
surely i’m not

i could crush and toss it aside
but its veins rained on me

stories unfolded one by one
thomas revealed two by two

it seemed completely right
for condemnation to take charge

i spoke forth in fear
for the goodness of all

let the cubs and kittens rule
the fate of future state

dust and ashes wept agreeably
in the hope of peace

i moved it a little
the paper i picked up today

Published in: on Friday, July 6, 2007 at 8:15 am  Comments (17)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2007/07/06/the-paper-i-picked-up-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. See, this is exactly why I try to avoid newspapers!
    Brilliant piece of poetry, CS. Really, really loved it!

  2. you know, as much as i try to avoid the paper, iโ€™m attracted to it too.

    โ€œthere you human go again. ficklenesses not in my tresses!โ€ Atyllah probably barked.

    i thank you, Vanilla, for your kind words!

    hey, Your Highness, keep watching.

  3. I liked this too. I try to avoid newspapers too, but then again you can’t keep your head buried in the sand forever, there has to be some interaction with the world. Great poem CS.

  4. can’t agree more with you, V. thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Perfect circle, the beginning and the end. I loved the poem, CS! Not many good things coming from the news, but that’s life, I guess…

  6. Fickle indeed. You really don’t want to pay too much attention to that Chicken, CS – she has issues, but then you know that!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Try this again in prose, CS. I believe it will work as a thought-provoking piece. Like your ideas.are pulling you along ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. sorry, meant to say…like the way your ideas are….

  9. thanks for your suggestion, Suzan! will consider it.

  10. Now that is true – one take on papers. Speaking as an ex-press reader, I can take or leave them.

  11. an ex-press reader? sounds like you’ve lost interest in the press.

    thanks for dropping by, Barbara!

  12. I love this one, it’s one of your best.

    I must say, your new look all over the site is quite a surprise! I like it, wasn’t expecting it at all!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

  13. you have been very kind to me and i really appreciate it. thanks, Scarlett! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. LOL, CS! I still read the culture sections and hear the news – I like keeping in touch with reality, but newspapers are so full of everyone else’s opinions sometimes it bugs me!

    I read papers for a press cutting agency when press cuttings still had currency back in the early 90s. With the internet and digital reading technology these days I don’t think there’s as much demand… still, it taught me to read quickly!

  15. Hey there, don’t forget to cast your vote in the lions writing circle contest. ๐Ÿ™‚ 3 days to go!

  16. totally agree with you, Barbara.

    yes, Seamus, will cast my vote soon. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

