Double Doses

“Hi!” he said with a certain intensity.

“Hi!” she uttered, feeling a little nervous.

“Thought I just come by to visit you,” he said, almost losing control.

“Sure. Come on in,” she beamed. She opened the door, paving his way.

He stepped into the house, heaving a silent sigh of relief. Her home was simple, but classy. There was no mess to look at. Everything was in perfect order. Almost, except for a pair of Armani pants hung over a dining chair.

“Can I get you something to drink? Earl grey, perhaps?” she asked in a tone that hinted joy. She disappeared into the kitchen.

“That’ll be fine. Thank you!” he replied, clearly distracted by the pants. He sat on the leather couch, looking a wee bit confused. Wasn’t she supposed to be single? He knew she had a divorce some years back. Her social circle had been pretty confined since. He really never expected a man in her house.

She walked out from the kitchen, holding a silver tray. A teapot with two teacups were placed neatly on it. She sat next to him on the couch. He looked flustered and excited at the same time.

“Am I disturbing you?” he finally blurted out. His heart was beating rapidly, expecting the worst. His eyes still on the dining chair.

“I beg your pardon?” she said. Then she realised it. “Oh…not at all. My boyfriend’s out for the day.”

His fear had been confirmed. His mind was in a swirl. His visions blurred. He had lost her.

“Oh…I think…I should leave now,” he could not put his words together. He wasn’t sure if it was the right response. She appeared surprised.

“No, please don’t leave,” she said, looking anxious. Her hand reached for his. “I like you. I need you to stay.”

He was stunned. Is this some kind of a joke, he thought. She was holding his hand firmly. At that moment, he could feel a very strong sense of love and belonging. Her hand felt extremely warm. He was melting away fast. He looked at her in the eyes. Her soul bared naked at the pupils. He had loved her since the first time he met her.

It was at a teachers’ conference where they both represented their respective schools. They were introduced to each other. Over the course of the three days, they very much stayed together. Over lunch and tea-breaks, and the R & R party. They chatted a lot, very much like they had known each other for years. He was already looking at his soul-mate. At least that was what he had believed.

The urge was coming. He wanted to pull her close and kiss her lips. He wanted to hold her tight and whisper into her ear, “I love you!” He was already losing his mind. To hell with the boyfriend. She needed me. Maybe he had not been treating her seriously enough. Maybe he hadn’t loved her enough. Maybe he had been just like the jerk she got a divorce with. Maybe……It was time for him to confess his love for her.

“Zach, I have something to tell you,” she spoke, thrilled yet calm. “I just discovered that I’m your sister.”

He was dumbfounded.

“Yes, I’m your sister!”

His mind drew a blank.

“Here’s the P.I. report……”

He just sat there.

Published in: on Sunday, April 29, 2007 at 11:29 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2007/04/29/double-doses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Clever-interesting- carefully written I like it. I think we did not win on Clarity of Night ….

  2. Thanks Mutley! Yeah, winning is almost impossible for me at Clarity. But expressing myself is well within my reach, and I think I have done that.

  3. Ah, more none winners. Maybe we could celebrate not winning. CS I have a confession to make, I was checking the comments on your previous post before I read the story, so I had spotted the ending before the beginning. Still I loved the tension you built up with him seeing the trousers and then describing his emotion, but the ending was a little ‘uh’?? Where did that come from? Do you think you could make some more hints to their relationship elsewhere? We totally have the guys point of view, but the only thing we hear from the girl is at the end. Hope this is helpful.

  4. I admit. Maybe I had been a bit male-egoistic. Sure, I’ll remember looking at things from as many perspectives as possible. Thanks for the advice, Miss V! Glad you are a frequent visitor here!

  5. Now now I DID NOT SAY THAT. I’m just trying to offer some constructive criticism ( ;

  6. I know you didn’t say that, Miss V. It is in my opinion that perhaps I’d been such in this piece of writing. I know you meant well, and I really appreciate it. Please continue giving me constructive criticisms. 😉

  7. What a twist at the end. I’ve really enjoyed your entries of late and impressed by all your writings.

    Keep writing. I will learn more.. Hope you don’t mind, I copy this entry to my blog. I just love this.

    Cheers, 😉

  8. as long as you seek my blessings and acknowledge my work, i’ll be glad to share. not always though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

