Promising

Look at the beautiful night sky
With the twinkling stars and the elegant moon
It certainly promises much
The cool sea breeze
And the salty smell of humidity
They definitely promise much

How I wish all these had come earlier
You know, we could have really lived happily ever after
We could have realistically grown old together
Pity the human nature is such
That we have our differences
That we could not manage them well enough

Feel the sand around here
The grains are ever so smooth, so fine
Just like how they used to be
Hear the tides rolling in
They sing so merrily in our ears
Bringing back fresh waves of sweet memories

How I wish the human nature is such
Consistent, everlasting and adaptable
That we can be as gay as we want to be
Pity Mother Nature is such
That we’ll always find it a tall order
To keep up with her standard of serendipity

As I observe the contours of your body
As I caress the hardened pounds of muscles
I thank God for the blessings we’d had together
I long to look into your soulful eyes again
I long to kiss your sensual lips again
But I’m just too afraid to face you

She’s calling me now
She’s telling me that there is hope
She’s begging me to turn myself in
Life’s like that, she says
Ups and downs, loss and gain
Health and sickness, life and death

He looked at the beautiful night sky again. With the twinkling stars and the elegant moon, it looked promising. Life could still go on. Do it, she said. He reached for his cellular and made the call. Then, he picked up his lover’s head and stood by the body. He closed his eyes and absorbed her singing voice. He was looking forward to his new life.

The first car arrived. Two of them walked cautiously towards him with their pistols in their hands. He offered no resistance. He was taken into the car as others began their work. With the window halfway up, he could hear one speak to another. “One male body. Still searching for his head.”

Published in: on Saturday, April 28, 2007 at 5:09 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doorsleftopen.wordpress.com/2007/04/28/promising/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ooh, the ending was a wee bit shocking, but I really liked this, the beginning was really beautiful and I loved the imagery. This is calling out to say so much more, would love to read more if you choose to expand.

  2. Thanks, Miss V, for your lovely comments!

    Yes, after reading so many brilliant writings lately, I thought I could try writing some fictions. Not sure if I could do it well though. “Promising” and “Moebius” share the same protagonist. Thinking of slowly weaving different pieces together. Hope it will turn out well in due course.

  3. I like this too. I like the way it makes the reader think they are reading a love poem and then slowly things turn and then comes that shocking end. Brilliant! Looking forward to seeing more.

  4. Thanks Marie! Will churn out more soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

